The Magazine Covering All Aspects of The Indian World

June - July 2007

Editorial Business Forum Political News Dispatches & Reports Letters Spotlight Travel Lifestyle Health India Sport Scene
All Sections
Issue Archive

June - July 2007


The India International Foundation 3rd Annual Awards

Millennium Gloucester Hotel in West End, London was the venue of glittering Awards ceremony organised by the India International Foundation, a UK-based non-governmental body set up for promoting worldwide science, art and culture of India.

In addition to their various regular activities, the Foundation honours the people of Indian origin worldwide with annual Awards. These awards are given to people who have attained notable achievements in different fields. The twelve categories for which the annual awards are given are Administration, Art and Culture, Business, Education, Industry, Judiciary, Literature, Medicine, Parliamentary, Science, Social Services and Sports. There is also ‘Pride of India Award’, the highest award, given to the person whose total contributions brought real pride to India.

Keith Vaz MP

Welcoming the guests, the President, Mr. Hardyal S Luther, said that these awards are decided by a high profile panel of judges. Pointing out the progress made by Indian democracy he said,”Nuclear Scientist, Dr Abdul Kalam, Muslim by religion, is the President of India. Mr Manmohan Singh, internationally renowned economist, Sikh by religion, is the Prime Minister. Now, where will you find such secular democracy in the world. It is only in India.

Hardyal S. Luther (president) delivering his welcome address

He further added that the Foundation will organise more eye cataract and fixing artificial limbs operations in various parts of India. The Foundation will also award up to 50 scholarships to the poor chidren in India.

Lord Navnit Dholakia

Baroness Usha Prashar, presenting the awards, praised the way the award winners were selected and appreciated the varous charitable work being done by the Foundation.

Mrs Kartick Sehgal, Chairman, Events Commttee, opening the ceremony

Among the various recipients of these awards ware Mr Rasik H. Patel (Business), Dr N.M Nandakumara, Director Bhratiya Vidya Bhavan (Art & Culture), Lord Kaan Bilimoria CBE (Industry), Prof. Bharat Jasani (Medicine), Mr Fauja Singh (Sports).

Lord Karan Bilimoria receiving Award of Distinction (industry) 2006 from Baroness Prashar

Other recipients are:

Administration: Mr Surinder S Prewal MBE

Education: Dr Spinder Dhaliwal

Judiciary: Judge Usha Karu (first Asian woman judge in UK)

Literature: Dr. Sukhir S Kapoor

Medicine: Dr. Rajat Mathur

Parliamentary: Mr Parmjit Dhanda MP

Science: Prof Harshad Navsaria

Sports: Miss Kiran Matharu

The highest award, ‘Pride of India’ Award went to Dr Manmohan Singh Kumar, Asst. Director, Fiscal Policy, International Monetary Fund, UK. The ceremony ended with Vote of thanks by His Honour Judge Mota Singh, Chairman Advisory Council of the Foundation. The audience were entertained by ‘Sanu Maan Punjabi Hon Da’ Group with Punjabi folk dances.

L to R: Lord Mohammed Sheikh, Lady Sheikh, Mrs.Asha Singh & Mr Mota Singh

L to R: Lady Anne Dholakia, Hardyal S. Luther, Lord Dholakia, Rajan Sehgal, a guest, Farooq Engineer, Raj &Veena Loomba

More Spotlight

Return to June - July 2007 contents

Copyright © 1993 - 2018 Indialink (UK) Ltd.